As a thriving Anglican Parish Church, regular worship on Sundays, during the week and at major festivals is central to everything we do. We uphold an inclusive, Catholic tradition and welcome all in Christ’s name, whatever their belief, particularly those new to, or visiting, the Parish.

New to St George’s? Click here to see our First Visit leaflet.

If you’d like to learn more about our history, click here.





Revd. Ollie Dempsey

Revd. Ollie Dempsey


Click here to email Ollie
or contact him on 0191 281 7162

Joan Grenfell

Joan Grenfell

Reader & Anna Chaplain

Contact via the Parish Office on 0191 281 1659 or click here to email the office
Dr Malcolm Toft

Dr Malcolm Toft

Reader & Air Cadet Chaplain

Click here to email Malcolm
Dr. Sue Vernon

Dr. Sue Vernon

Safeguarding Officer

Click here to email Sue
Enid Pearson

Enid Pearson


Click here to email Enid

Janet Wilson

Janet Wilson


Click here to email Janet

Drew Cantrill-Fenwick

Drew Cantrill-Fenwick

Director of Music

Click here to email Drew
Geoff White

Geoff White

Bells: Tower Captain

Click here to email Geoff
Jonathan Richards

Jonathan Richards

Parish Secretary

Click here to email the parish office

Contact St. George’s Jesmond

St George’s Church
St George’s Close,
Newcastle upon Tyne.

Tel: (0191) 281 1659
Email: office@stgeorgesjesmond.org.uk
Office hours: Monday to Friday, 9:45am-12:45pm

The Q3 bus stops outside the church every 20 minutes and we are 10 minutes walk from West Jesmond metro station (approx. 20 mins from Jesmond and Ilford Road stations).


The next PCC meeting will be on Wednesday 10th July. If you have any questions or issues for inclusion, please contact the PCC Secretary on pccsec@stgeorgesjesmond.org.uk by midday on Sunday 30th June.

The current Parochial Church Council Members are:

Ex Officio

Incumbent: vacancy
Churchwardens: Enid Pearson, Janet Wilson
General Synod: Izzy McDonald-Booth
Deanery Synod: Michael de la Hunt (2023-2026), Kay Plumley (2023-2026); Alex Walker (2023-2026)
Treasurer: Mike Ranson

Secretary: Nigel Russell-Sewell

Elected Members

Hilary Cullingford (2022-2025)
Lana Liu (2023-2026)
Alison Mattinson (2024-2027)
Ian Ness (2022-2025)
Nigel Russell-Sewell (2023-2026)
Brent Swinburne (2024-2027)
Margaret Vane (2022-2025)
Sue Vernon (2021-2024)

With the exception of ex-officio members, all members of the PCC are elected at the Annual Parochial Church Council meeting and usually serve for 3 years, with approximately a third changing over each year. If you wish to join the Electoral roll, the application form and privacy policy are linked below:

Electoral Roll privacy notice

Electoral Roll application form

PCC minutes:

28th April 2024 – APCM (Note. These are draft minutes, approved for circulation but not formally approved until the next APCM)
9th April 2024
7th February 2024
9th January 2024
4th December 2023
11th November 2023

Annual Reports and Account for year ending 31st December 2023

Older minutes are available on request from the Parish Office.

The Friends of St George’s

The Friends were established in 2008 to maintain and renovate the fabric of the Church and to expand and strengthen its role in the community. You can find more information about them on their website – https://friendsofstgeorgesjesmond.org.uk


For our policies, see the menu below.

 flowerHearing Loop LogoTradecraft LogoInclusive Church